Heating Controls without Boiler Switch

• November 23, 2014 at 23:36 #17127
    eoghan
    Participant

I currently have a combi boiler that I switch on using an in-line relay, which works great and all. However I was hoping for a bit more control of the heat levels. If I get the theromstat can I use that to switch the relay without investing in the Boiler Switch, as from what I can tell, the boiler switch offers little extra functionality than the relay. Would the TRVs be able to perform this function instead? I’m just a poor student who is trying to reduce heating bill in the most cost effective manner!

November 24, 2014 at 19:01 #17142
    ger69
    Participant

Hi Eoghan

The Thermostat cannot be used without the boiler switch. The thermostat is totally portable ( battery powered) and communicates with the boiler switch via RF (868mhz).

I am not too sure about TRV’s as, I don’t have any but, reading this site , there seems to be a lot of trouble with them.

If the TRV’s are on the 868 mhz band then it may be possible.

Lightwave , for some unknown reason have put their heating on the 868 mhz while their lighting etc is on 433.92 mhz

Gerry.

November 27, 2014 at 09:38 #17186
    Bry382
    Participant

I currently have a combi boiler that I switch on using an in-line relay, which works great and all. However I was hoping for a bit more control of the heat levels. If I get the theromstat can I use that to switch the relay without investing in the Boiler Switch, as from what I can tell, the boiler switch offers little extra functionality than the relay. Would the TRVs be able to perform this function instead? Iā€™m just a poor student who is trying to reduce heating bill in the most cost effective manner!